Award for Excellence in Law

student and academic staff member talking in the Liberty Building

The Society of Indian Law Firms (SILF) and Menon Institute of Legal Advocacy Training (MILAT) organised the 10th Law Teachers Day on 1 Sept 2018 at Hotel Hyatt Regency, New Delhi. SILF and MILAT have been observing the annual Law Teachers' Day in September since 2009 to honour law teachers, jurists, law institutes and law students. The initiative, in the past decade has recognised eminent jurists, teachers and excellent institutions for their initiatives and contributions to the furtherance of the legal education in India. The categories of Awards include Prof.N.R. Madhava Menon Best Law Teacher Award, SILF-MILAT Institutional Excellence Award, Justice A.B. Rohatgi Jurist Award, SILF-MILAT South Asian Jurist Award and Best Law Students of the year award.

Hon'ble Shri Dipak Misra, Chief Justice of India, inaugurated the 10th Law Teachers' Day 2018. The function also included a symposium on “Role of Legal Education in Nation Building” which saw the participation of Vice chancellors, Directors, Jurists, Law Teachers and students from all over the country. The awards were presented during the function by His Excellency, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu, Vice President of India and Chief Guest of the awards function. Legal luminaries like Padma Shri Prof N.R. Madhava Menon, Shri Lalit Bhasin and Prof S Sivakumar were present during the event.

LLOYD LAW COLLEGE receiving the SILF MILAT Institutional Excellence Award 2018

Lloyd Law College, Greater Noida was awarded the 'Institution of Excellence' in the 10th Law Teachers Day function. Lloyd Law College is a premier, national legal educational institution, which has been striving from the beginning of its establishment to provide quality legal education. The college has active national and international collaborations and the major initiatives include establishment of various centres of studies to provide opportunities for the students to identify their core areas of interest and excel in them.

Notable awardees

Prof. R. Venkata Rao, NLSIU, Bangalore

SILF MILAT Prof. N. R. Madhava Menon Best Law Teacher Award

Shri K. K. Venugopal, Attorney General for Iindia

SILF MILAT Prof. (Justice) A. B. Rohatgi Jurist Award

Lloyd Law College, Greater Noida (U.P.)

SILF MILAT Institutional Excellence Award


Nation building is linked to the cultivation of mind... CJI

Good legal education builds strong nation with responsible citizens... Prof. (Dr.) N. R. Madhava Menon Chairman, MILAT


Rule of law depends on quality legal education... Dr. Lalit Bhasin President, SILF

Team Lloyd Law College receiving the SILF MILAT Institutional Excellence Award 2018